Remote

Standard

It had been so long since I had been home.  I had escaped the protected world so long ago but now I found myself back, facing my past.  Walking among the ruins and remains of the remote existence, I remember Papa making sure we knew how to survive.  We survived Y2K without a problem, although he stood guard.  We survived the twin towers, falling so far away.  Then, things began to slowly slip away.  One freedom after another was stripped from us.  That’s when we moved to the wilderness.  Many others joined us, living off the land, staying off the grid.  We were taught that life would no longer be the same.  We hid.

One day, I walked away from the remote trailer and slipped into society.  I was lost at first, unaware of the modern technology…but I adapted.  I learned.  Then I realized.  Papa was right.

visdare50

This flash fiction is in response to the VisDare50.

About Denise Callaway

I started writing in the 5th grade and have folders of bits and pieces dating back nearly that far. Wonderful teachers encouraged me along the way, from allowing me to take my spelling word sentences and write a story instead to posting pictures for a free write on a regular basis. On those pictures, I often look for some obscure detail, sometimes imagined off the picture to develop into the story idea. As I grew into my teenage years, I continued to write and added poetry to my list. Throughout college and during my adult life, I've continued writing: short stories, poetry, and even a few articles for Yahoo! Voices before they shut down that venue. I do have longer works in process and I hope to one day unveil them to you all. Until that day comes, I hope you enjoy these tasty tidbits I delight in sharing with you.

Leave a Reply

