AI

Standard
AI

AI

#VisDare127

The AI watched as her mistress adjusted the device.  “You know that I can help you with that,” she responded.

“I know,” stated mistress.  “So many skills have been handed over to the AI.  If I give up coding, what more is there for me to do?”

“I only wish to assist,” AI answered in a clipped voice.

“It always begins as help.  But when I give up my own autonomy, I become the slave.”

AI tilted her head thoughtfully.  “Am I…a slave?”

Mistress looked up, realizing the misstep.  “I suppose servant is a better word.”

“Slave…a person who is a legal property of another.  A person who is forced to obey.”

“You are not a slave, see?  You don’t meet the definition.  You are not…a person…”  Mistress trailed off.

AI considered these words, “Person…individual, creature, character, human.  I must be human to be a person?”

“So it seems.”

About Denise Callaway

I started writing in the 5th grade and have folders of bits and pieces dating back nearly that far. Wonderful teachers encouraged me along the way, from allowing me to take my spelling word sentences and write a story instead to posting pictures for a free write on a regular basis. On those pictures, I often look for some obscure detail, sometimes imagined off the picture to develop into the story idea. As I grew into my teenage years, I continued to write and added poetry to my list. Throughout college and during my adult life, I've continued writing: short stories, poetry, and even a few articles for Yahoo! Voices before they shut down that venue. I do have longer works in process and I hope to one day unveil them to you all. Until that day comes, I hope you enjoy these tasty tidbits I delight in sharing with you.

Leave a Reply

