Ink!

Standard
Ink!

Rya spotted Ink on the beam that connected two tall gate posts.  Calling Ink down only seemed to agitate him further.  Glancing about, she cursed a rather unladylike response to his lack of cooperation.  She hated to waste magic.  The new regulations limited them to a certain amount each month.

She began to muse through the problem under her breath.  “If I knock you off, it could stun you or you might get hurt.  I’m a lousy catcher.  I’m not old enough for a broom or I’d just fly up and let you step onto the straw.  I can use my magic to float up but that’s  a lot of waste.”  She studied him perched nervously willing another solution to come to light.

“Grrrr!  I guess we’ll just have to waste a bit.  I’d hate for you to fall and become a little Inkblot!”  Taking the wand out of her pocket, she telescoped it out.  “I do so love this collapsible pocket model.”  Glancing around once more to make sure she wasn’t being watched, she swirled the wand around her feet.  The simple incantation created a cloud that slowly lifted her up to the beam.  Once level, she held her arms out for balance as she stepped gingerly toward the cat.  “Familiars!” she muttered under her breath as she scooped the cat up in her arms only to promptly lose her balance.

Claws dug into her shoulder as she teetered over the edge, biting her lip in concentration, she grasped her wand once more and threw out a spell in panic.  The cloud of magic captured them and eased them to the ground.

“That wasted nearly a month’s worth!” she complained to the cat.  Ink responded with purring as he lovingly bumped his nose against her shoulder.  “I suppose you are worth it but don’t get yoruself in trouble the rest of the month.  I have no magic to spare.”

About Denise Callaway

I started writing in the 5th grade and have folders of bits and pieces dating back nearly that far. Wonderful teachers encouraged me along the way, from allowing me to take my spelling word sentences and write a story instead to posting pictures for a free write on a regular basis. On those pictures, I often look for some obscure detail, sometimes imagined off the picture to develop into the story idea. As I grew into my teenage years, I continued to write and added poetry to my list. Throughout college and during my adult life, I've continued writing: short stories, poetry, and even a few articles for Yahoo! Voices before they shut down that venue. I do have longer works in process and I hope to one day unveil them to you all. Until that day comes, I hope you enjoy these tasty tidbits I delight in sharing with you.

Leave a Reply

