As the Curtain Flutters: Ghostly Post # 2

Standard
As the Curtain Flutters:  Ghostly Post # 2

Around age eight or nine, my parents built a house on my dad’s property…20 acres at the end of a gravel drive split off from the family land.  I was excited about moving into a brick house in the woods.  I even picked my room!

Most nights were normal.  Bedtime at eight or nine…everything seemed to be eight or nine back then.  I’d disappear into my imagination until I fell asleep.  However, as the attic fan pulled the curtains out from the window one night, I noticed a figure out between my window and the swing.  I did what any little girl would do.  I called out to daddy.

Daddy got up immediately and took his rifle out to check out the property.  I knew if he was there, I’d be safe.  This was just a given.  He came back in the house and told me that whoever it was, he was gone.

This went on for several weeks.  Every few nights, I’d call out to daddy that I saw the man outside my window.  Dad dutifully would check it out, never wavering or indicating he didn’t believe me.  Still, every time he would investigate the  area around the house and find no one.

I was becoming a bit nervous at this point and would do things such as clothespin my curtains together to keep from seeing the man and to keep him from seeing me.  However, looking back, he never seemed to look my direction.  Nor did he even seem aware of my presence.

One night during his visits, I watched from the crack in the curtain and noticed he stopped and seemed to be feeling around on the ground.  I never noticed this but he may have done this every night.  However, he seemed to be on the path we had worn out between the swing and the house, right in front of the seesaw.

The next morning, I went out to see where he was digging around.  Pressed into the ground was a necklace.  It had a gold pendant with a small, round opal inserted in the center and a couple of pink accent stones.  I pulled it from the ground and took it in to clean it.

I’m not sure the history of this necklace.  I thought it was a pretty princess necklace back.  Later, I liked to wear it with vintage clothes.  I never had it appraised because the accent stones appeared to be inexpensive.  I suspected it had little monetary value.

Except, it must have been important to him.  I never saw this man in the yard after that day.  He seemed to be at peace with the recovery of that necklace.   I do know I held onto it into my adulthood and I believe I passed it onto my daughter later on.

[The image is not of the necklace in story but I’m hoping to replace it with the real image later on.  This image was found here.]

About Denise Callaway

I started writing in the 5th grade and have folders of bits and pieces dating back nearly that far. Wonderful teachers encouraged me along the way, from allowing me to take my spelling word sentences and write a story instead to posting pictures for a free write on a regular basis. On those pictures, I often look for some obscure detail, sometimes imagined off the picture to develop into the story idea. As I grew into my teenage years, I continued to write and added poetry to my list. Throughout college and during my adult life, I've continued writing: short stories, poetry, and even a few articles for Yahoo! Voices before they shut down that venue. I do have longer works in process and I hope to one day unveil them to you all. Until that day comes, I hope you enjoy these tasty tidbits I delight in sharing with you.

Leave a Reply

