Shrouded Sin

Standard

The midwife trudged grimly through the morning, her figure shrouded in mist.  The Laird’s mistress had given birth just before yesterdawn and the evidence of his sin squalled out with the sunrise.  Had they but known that the young maid had been the bastard daughter of the previous Laird, this could have been prevented.  The next morning found Stella’s lifeless body, the poison still clutched in her fingers.

Now the babe, misshapened and hungry, needed a home and Mairi clutched him close to her chest as she walked away from the small hovel.  He shivered and fussed.  He would not hold his tongue long.  As predicted, he let out a wail as they crested the hilltop and entered the village.

The Laird stood at the end of the short road.  Taking a quick look, he turned away with the words, “Stella…may God forgive us.”

Mairi looked down as the mother’s poison had taken affect.  Pulling the cloth over the still body, she continued her journey to the child’s new home, the grave sat beyond the sanctified earth of the stone church.  “God has more mercy than humanity,” she whispered to the still form.  Handing the child over to the grave keeper, he nodded solemnly.  “The mother…she is beyond our reach as well.  Her home edges the wood.  See to it.”

About Denise Callaway

I started writing in the 5th grade and have folders of bits and pieces dating back nearly that far. Wonderful teachers encouraged me along the way, from allowing me to take my spelling word sentences and write a story instead to posting pictures for a free write on a regular basis. On those pictures, I often look for some obscure detail, sometimes imagined off the picture to develop into the story idea. As I grew into my teenage years, I continued to write and added poetry to my list. Throughout college and during my adult life, I've continued writing: short stories, poetry, and even a few articles for Yahoo! Voices before they shut down that venue. I do have longer works in process and I hope to one day unveil them to you all. Until that day comes, I hope you enjoy these tasty tidbits I delight in sharing with you.

Leave a Reply

